E-Werk
Power station
The former hydroelectric power station of the town of Lauenburg is located on the Elbe-Lübeck Canal. As the desire for more electricity grew in Lauenburg at the beginning of the 20th century, the mill at the Palmschleuse was equipped with a set of water turbines in 1921 and the three-meter difference in height was used to generate electricity. As early as 1926, three diesel engines with generators were added to the power plant. The machines manufactured by Gasmotorenfabrik Deutz had an output of 150, 200 and 300 hp and generated three-phase current with a voltage of 3000 volts. An additional engine and a coal generator were added in 1936. The plant supplied the town of Lauenburg/Elbe with electricity until 1950. However, due to a lack of profitability, the operation of the power plant - which is environmentally friendly by today's standards - had to be discontinued in 1985.
Today, the E-Werk with its almost completely preserved engine technology is a special sight in Lauenburg. The engines have been restored by volunteers and can be partially powered electrically. You can visit the E-Werk as part of a guided tour.
The E-Werk is run by the Association for the Promotion of the Lauenburg Elbe Navigation Museum.
Good to know
Openings
www.lauenburg-tourismus.de
General information
Parking Available
Bus stop available
Eligibility
Bad Weather Offer
Suitable for any weather
for Groups
for Class
for families
for individual guests
Suitable for the Elderly
for Children of all Ages
Suitable for Pushchair
Other Furnishing/Equipment
Toilet
Barrier-free access
Accessibility
Contact person
Mareike Bodendieck
Author
Touristik & Kultur Stadt Lauenburg/Elbe
Organization
Touristik & Kultur Stadt Lauenburg/Elbe
License (master data)
Touristik & Kultur Stadt Lauenburg/Elbe
Nearby




